Workplace Fairness

Menu

Skip to main content

  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text
main content

Termination & Unemployment
Filing an Unemployment Claim - West Virginia

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

    You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the week in which you file your application for benefits). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

  2. How do I apply for benefits in West Virginia?

    You can apply for unemployment benefits online or by telephone by calling 1-800-379-1032 if you are living outside of West Virginia. If you reside in West Virginia, your claim must be filed in person at your nearest claims office. To locate the local claims office nearest you and find out the group meeting times, you can go online to the West Virginia Unemployment Compensation webpage.

  3. How much will I receive?

    The amount of unemployment benefits varies. It is dependent on how much you have earned in your base period. The minimum weekly benefit rate is $24.00 and maximum benefit rate is $424.00. More information can be found on the UC Benefit Rate Table.

  4. How long will I receive these benefits?

    The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.

  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

    You must register with the Workforce West Virginia Employment Service, be available and able for work, and actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. The number of weekly contacts you should make depends upon your occupation and the condition of the labor market. You will have to file for benefits weekly, either by telephone or online. These  are the fastest and most efficient ways to file, but you may file in person.

  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

    You must file your appeal within 8 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed. You may file an appeal on a regular form that is available in your local office, or you may write a letter to your local office. Also, you must also continue to file weekly during your appeal, as you will only be paid for those weeks you continued to file if you win your appeal.

  7. For more information on West Virginia's unemployment insurance laws

    Visit the State of West Virginia Website

    Read the Claimant Handbook




  • Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
  • Find an Employment Lawyer

  • Support Workplace Fairness

Follow us on:

 
 

Find an Employment Attorney

The Workplace Fairness Attorney Directory features lawyers from across the United States who primarily represent workers in employment cases. Please note that Workplace Fairness does not operate a lawyer referral service and does not provide legal advice, and that Workplace Fairness is not responsible for any advice that you receive from anyone, attorney or non-attorney, you may contact from this site.

Tracking image for JustAnswer widget