Workplace Fairness

Menu

Skip to main content

  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text
main content

Termination & Unemployment
Filing an Unemployment Claim - Virginia

Please select a topic below:

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
  2. How do I apply for benefits in Virginia?
  3. How much will I receive?
  4. How long will I receive these benefits for?
  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
  7. More information on Virginia's unemployment insurance laws

1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the week in which you file your application for benefits, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

back to top

2. How do I apply for benefits in Virginia?

You can apply online or over the phone by contacting 1-866-832-2363.

back to top

3. How much will I receive?

Based on the wages earned during the regular base period, this determination will indicate the benefit amount you qualify for each week. Weekly unemployment benefits range from $60 to $378 per week.

back to top

4. How long will I receive these benefits?

Based on the wages earned during the regular base period, this determination will indicate the number of weeks you may receive benefits, ranging from 12 weeks to 26 weeks.

back to top

5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

You must file weekly claims (the first of which must be filed 28 days from your initial claim), and actively seek work. You must register for work through the VEC Workforce Connection website or in person at any VEC workforce center. Virginia requires that you contact several employers each week to be actively seeking work. You must keep a record of your work search contacts for one year for auditing purposes. You must accept suitable work, and report any wages made.

back to top

6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

All appeals must be filed within 30 days of the date the determination was mailed to you, unless the appeal period is extended. This determination will contain the final date on which an appeal can be filed. All appeals must be in writing, and they can be filed in person, by mail, by fax or online. Also, you must continue to file for weekly benefits, as you will only be paid benefits for the weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

back to top

7. For more information on Virginia's unemployment insurance laws:

Visit the State of Virginia Website

Read the Claimant Handbook

back to top




  • Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
  • Find an Employment Lawyer

  • Support Workplace Fairness

Follow us on:

 
 

Find an Employment Attorney

The Workplace Fairness Attorney Directory features lawyers from across the United States who primarily represent workers in employment cases. Please note that Workplace Fairness does not operate a lawyer referral service and does not provide legal advice, and that Workplace Fairness is not responsible for any advice that you receive from anyone, attorney or non-attorney, you may contact from this site.

Tracking image for JustAnswer widget