Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Oregon?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Oregon's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Oregon?
You can apply online, or over the phone by contacting 1-877-345-3484.
3. How much will I receive?
The amount of benefits you will receive will be 1.25% of your total base year gross earnings. For an estimate, use Oregon's Unemployment Insurance Estimator. The minimum weekly benefit amount available is currently $118 a week. The maximum potential weekly benefit is currently $507 a week.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly online or by telephone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities using the Employment Search Record. You must make two direct employer contacts and do three additional work seeking activities each week. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 20 days of the mailing date of the decision for denial. You may request a hearing for your appeal by mailing, emailing or faxing the form that will be included in your decision for denial, or you may request a hearing by calling an Unemployment Insurance Center. Additionally, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.