Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
How do I apply for benefits in New Hampshire?
You can apply online.
How much will I receive?
The actual amount you will receive if you meet all eligibility requirements depends on your earnings in what is called the Base Period. You can look up your weekly benefit amount by using the New Hampshire Benefit Amount Schedule. The maximum weekly benefit amount is currently $427 and the minimum is $32.
How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. You must register with the Job Match System. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 14 calendar days from the date the Determination was mailed to you. Your appeal must be in writing, and you can submit it in person, by mail, or by email. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
For more information on New Hampshire's unemployment insurance laws: