Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Nebraska?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Nebraska's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters for some). You must have worked a job where your employer paid unemployment insurance tax on your wages. Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Nebraska?
You can apply online or by phone at (402) 471-0016.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount will be set at one-half of your average weekly wage based on the highest earnings quarter of your base period, rounded down to the nearest even dollar amount. The maximum weekly benefit amount for 2020 is $440.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. You may be required to register for Employment Services, and you can do so online at neworks.nebraska.gov or at any Career Center location. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. To be actively seeking employment, you must make at least five employer contacts each week you file for benefits. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 20 calendar days from the date the Determination was mailed to you. You can submit your appeal online, by email, or in writing by mail or by fax. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.