Workplace Fairness

Menu

Skip to main content

  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text
main content

Termination & Unemployment
Filing an Unemployment Claim - Mississippi

Please select a topic below:

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
  2. How do I apply for benefits in Mississippi?
  3. How much will I receive?
  4. How long will I receive these benefits for?
  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
  7. More information on Mississippi's unemployment insurance laws

1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

back to top

2. How do I apply for benefits in Mississippi?

You can apply online, in person at a WIN Job Center, or over the phone at 1-601-855-3133.

back to top

3. How much will I receive?

Your weekly benefit amount is determined by dividing your high quarter earnings by 26 and rounding the answer to the next lower dollar. Your weekly benefit amount, however, cannot be less than $30 or more than $235. For more information, use the Employment Security Department's Weekly Benefits Amount Table.

back to top

4. How long will I receive these benefits?

The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.

back to top

5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

You must continue to file weekly online. You must register for work at the Employment Service in your area. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. To be actively seeking employment, you must make at least three employer contacts each week you file for benefits. Finally, you must accept suitable work.

back to top

6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

You must appeal within 14 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed to you. Your appeal must be in writing. To file an appeal, you should report to the claims center or itinerant point where proper forms and information are available, or you can submit your appeal by mail. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

back to top

7. For more information on Mississippi's unemployment insurance laws:

Visit the State of Mississippi Website

Read the Claimant Handbook

back to top




  • Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
  • Find an Employment Lawyer

  • Support Workplace Fairness

Follow us on:

 
 

Find an Employment Attorney

The Workplace Fairness Attorney Directory features lawyers from across the United States who primarily represent workers in employment cases. Please note that Workplace Fairness does not operate a lawyer referral service and does not provide legal advice, and that Workplace Fairness is not responsible for any advice that you receive from anyone, attorney or non-attorney, you may contact from this site.

Tracking image for JustAnswer widget