Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Minnesota?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Minnesota's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Minnesota?
You can apply online, or over the phone at 1-651-296-3644 (Twin Cities area) or 1-877-898-9090 (Greater Minnesota).
3. How much will I receive?
Your unemployment benefits will be approximately half of your average weekly gross wage in the base period up to the state maximum of $597. Your weekly benefit amount will be the higher of your highest quarter of wages in the base period divided by 26, up to a maximum of $385, or your total base period wages divided by 104 up to a maximum of $597.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The maximum amount of benefits you can receive is between 11 and 26 weeks, depending upon the wages you earned in the base period of your benefit account. This will be the lower of either your weekly benefit amount multiplied by 26, or your total base period wages divided by 3.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (a form to help you do so can be found in the Claimant Handbook). Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You may appeal online, by mail, or by fax within the timeframe specified on the determination to be appealed. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.