Workplace Fairness

Menu

Skip to main content

  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text
main content

Termination & Unemployment
Filing an Unemployment Claim - Massachusetts

Please select a topic below:

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
  2. How do I apply for benefits in Massachusetts?
  3. How much will I receive?
  4. How long will I receive these benefits for?
  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
  7. More information on Massachusetts's unemployment insurance laws

1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your primary base period (the last 4 completed calendar quarters immediately preceding the date on which your claim is effective). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

back to top

2. How do I apply for benefits in Massachusetts?

You can apply online or over the phone at 1-877-626-6800.

back to top

3. How much will I receive?

You can receive a weekly benefit of approximately 50 percent of your weekly wage, up to a maximum of $823 per week.

back to top

4. How long will I receive these benefits for?

The maximum number of weeks you can collect full benefits is 30 (capped at 26 weeks during periods of extended benefits).

back to top

5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

You must continue to file weekly either online on your UI Online account or by telephone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. To be actively seeking employment, you must make at least three employer contacts each week you file for benefits using the Work Search Activity Log. Finally, you must accept suitable work.

back to top

6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

You may appeal a disqualification by requesting a hearing. To request a hearing, you should complete the bottom of your disqualification notice, indicating you want to appeal the decision. Appeals maybe filed by mail, by fax, or in person. Your request must be in writing and filed within 10 calendar days of the mailing date of the disqualification.

back to top

7. For more information on Massachusetts' unemployment insurance laws:

Visit the State of Massachusetts Website

Read the Claimant Handbook

back to top




  • Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
  • Find an Employment Lawyer

  • Support Workplace Fairness

Follow us on:

 
 

Find an Employment Attorney

The Workplace Fairness Attorney Directory features lawyers from across the United States who primarily represent workers in employment cases. Please note that Workplace Fairness does not operate a lawyer referral service and does not provide legal advice, and that Workplace Fairness is not responsible for any advice that you receive from anyone, attorney or non-attorney, you may contact from this site.

Tracking image for JustAnswer widget