Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Connecticut?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Connecticut's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Connecticut?
You can apply online or over the phone at (860)-263-6000.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount will be 1/26 of the average of the 2 highest quarters during your base period (or the single highest quarter for construction workers), but cannot exceed the maximum benefit rate established by law. As of October 6, 2019, the maximum weekly benefit rate is $649.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but the length will not be more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. While Connecticut state law does not set a specified number of contacts each week to be considered actively seeking work, courts have said contacting 3 employers each week is a reasonable effort to find work. You must also register with the Career Center. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 21 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed to you. Your appeal may be submitted submitted online, in person, by mail, or by fax. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
7. For more information on Connecticut's unemployment insurance laws:
Visit the Connecticut State Website