Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Arizona?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Arizona's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
In order to receive benefits you must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
You must also be a resident of the state of Arizona, have worked in the past 12 – 18 months, and earned a minimum amount of wages, determined by guidelines set by the state. Claimants must be able to work and available for work each week that you are collecting unemployment benefits.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Arizona?
You can apply online, by telephone at 1-877-600-2722, or by mail using the Arizona Initial Claim for Unemployment Insurance form.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount is determined by computing 4% of your base period wage quarter in which your earnings were the highest. The maximum weekly benefit amount is $240.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but it will not last more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly.Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. You must additionally register with the Department of Economic Security Employment Service. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 15 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed to you. Your appeal may be submitted over the phone by calling the number on the determination, or you can appeal by mail by using the Request for Appeal form. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.