Filing an Unemployment Claim - Missouri

Please select a topic below:

You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

You can apply online, or over the phone by contacting your Claims Center.

Your weekly benefit amount will be 4 percent of the average of the two highest quarterly wages in the base period, not to exceed $320. All weekly benefits are rounded down to an even dollar. For an estimate, use Missouri’s Benefits Calculator.

The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 20 weeks.

You must continue to file weekly, and unless directed otherwise, report in person at least once every 4 weeks to a Missouri Career Center or other designated office. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work, and you must report any wages you have earned. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities. You will be notified how many employer contacts you will have to make each week to be considered actively seeking employment. Finally, you must accept suitable work.

You must appeal within 30 calendar days from the date of the decision for denial. Your appeal must be in writing, and must be submitted by mail or by fax. Also, you should keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you may only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

Accordion Content
Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
Scroll to Top

Madeline Messa

Madeline Messa is a 3L at Syracuse University College of Law. She graduated from Penn State with a degree in journalism. With her legal research and writing for Workplace Fairness, she strives to equip people with the information they need to be their own best advocate.