• Choose Language:
  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text

Your Rights Filing a Workers Compensation Claim - Wyoming

Advertisement: Workplace Fairness

This page provides answers to the following questions:

  1. I had an accident at work. How do I file a workers compensation claim in DC?
  2. Should my employer have workers compensation insurance? How do I know I am covered?
  3. What are the conditions that enable me or prevent me from claiming benefits under my state's law?
  4. What benefits might I be eligible to recieve?
  5. How much time do I have to file my claim? What are the stages of the claim process? What should I expect?
  6. If I'm not happy with the determination, how do I appeal?

Wyoming Department of Workforce Services – Workers’ Compensation

1. I had an accident at work. How do I file a workers compensation claim in my state?

You must report your injury to your employer within 72 hours of the accident causing your injury and to the Workers’ Compensation Division of Wyoming within 10 days. You must then file a claim for benefits using the appropriate form for what benefits you’re claiming.

2. Should my employer have workers compensation insurance? How do I know I am covered?

Though Wyoming law limits workers compensation requirements to public employers and extra-hazardous occupations, the list of extra-hazardous occupations is so extensive that most employees will be covered.

3. What are the conditions that enable me or prevent me from claiming benefits under my state’s law?

The injury must be related to the job and must not have been intentional.

4. What benefits might I be eligible to receive? 

You might be eligible to receive medical benefits, travel reimbursement, temporary total disability benefits, permanent partial impairment benefits, vocational rehabilitation, permanent partial disability benefits, permanent total disability benefits, and death benefits. More information can be found at WyomingWorkforce.org.

5. How much time do I have to file my claim? What are the stages of the claim process? What should I expect?

You must report your injury to your employer within 72 hours of the accident causing your injury and to the Workers’ Compensation Division of Wyoming within 10 days. You must then file a claim for benefits using the appropriate form for what benefits you’re claiming.

The Division must review your injury report within 15 days. If the Division needs more information, you will receive an Initial Review letter identifying the information needed.

After issuing an Initial Review letter, the Division has an additional 45 to review the information received. 

The Division will issue a Final Determination letter within 60 days of receiving your injury report.

6. If I’m not happy with the determination, how do I appeal?

If you are unhappy with the Division’s decision, you have 15 days to after the Final Determination letter was mailed by the Division to request a hearing. A claims analyst will be assigned to your case during the process and will be able to help you in requesting a hearing.