Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in South Dakota?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on South Dakota's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have made sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the week in which you file your application for benefits, or alternatively the last 4 quarters for some). You must have worked a job where your employer paid unemployment insurance tax on your wages. Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in South Dakota?
You can apply online or over the phone by contacting 1-605-626-3179.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit is 1/26th of the wages paid in the highest quarter of your base period, up to a maximum amount determined by the state's average weekly wage. The maximum amount is currently $402 per week.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly either online or by telephone, and you must report to all Department of Labor and Regulations services. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must register for work with the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation. You must actively seek employment, making two employer contacts each week, while keeping a record of your work search activities. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
Your appeal must be in writing, and it must be submitted within 15 days of the date the decision for denial was mailed to you. It may be submitted by mail or fax. You may also deliver your appeal in person to any South Dakota job service office. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
7. For more information on South Dakota's unemployment insurance laws:
Read the Claimant Handbook