Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in New Mexico?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on New Mexico's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters for some). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in New Mexico?
You can apply online, or over the phone at 1-877-664-6984.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount is based on an amount equal to 52.5% of the average weekly wage for insured work paid to you in that quarter of your base period in which total wages were highest. Most of the time, taking the highest quarter in your base period, dividing this by 13 and multiply by 53.5% can make the calculation. You can receive a minimum of $72 to a maximum of $386.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly, and you must register for work with the Department of Workforce Solutions within 14 days of your initial claim. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities using the Work Search Log. To be actively seeking work, you must contact at least two employers each week you file for benefits. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 15 days of the date of the decision for denial. You may appeal by mail, by fax, or over the phone. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.
7. For more information on New Mexico's unemployment insurance laws:
Visit the State of New Mexico Website.
Read the Claimant Handbook.