Workplace Fairness

Menu

Skip to main content

  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text
main content

Termination & Unemployment
Filing an Unemployment Claim - Michigan

Please select a topic below:

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
  2. How do I apply for benefits in Michigan?
  3. How much will I receive?
  4. How long will I receive these benefits for?
  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
  7. More information on Michigan's unemployment insurance laws

1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

back to top

2. How do I apply for benefits in Michigan?

You can apply online, or over the phone at 1-866-500-0017.

back to top

3. How much will I receive?

Your weekly benefit amount will equal 4.1% of the highest quarter wages in the base period, plus $6 for each dependent claimed up to 5 dependents. The maximum weekly benefit amount is $362. You can calculate your estimated weekly benefit amount here.

back to top

4. How long will I receive these benefits?

You may receive benefits for between 14 and 20 weeks, depending on your base period wages. You can calculate how long you will receive benefits here .

back to top

5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

You must continue to file bi-weekly (every 2 weeks). You must register for work by filing a resume in the Michigan Talent Bank, and you must go to a Michigan Works! Service Center to verify this action. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities using the Record of Work Search form. You must make two job contacts per week. Finally, you must accept suitable work.

back to top

6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

You must appeal within 30 calendar days from the date the decision was issued to you. Your appeal must be in writing and may be submitted by mail or by fax. Also, you should keep filing your bi-weekly claims regularly because you may only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

back to top

7. For more information on Michigan's unemployment insurance laws:

Visit the State of Michigan Website

Read the Claimant Handbook

back to top




  • Tracking image for JustAnswer widget
  • Find an Employment Lawyer

  • Support Workplace Fairness

Follow us on:

 
 

Find an Employment Attorney

The Workplace Fairness Attorney Directory features lawyers from across the United States who primarily represent workers in employment cases. Please note that Workplace Fairness does not operate a lawyer referral service and does not provide legal advice, and that Workplace Fairness is not responsible for any advice that you receive from anyone, attorney or non-attorney, you may contact from this site.

Tracking image for JustAnswer widget