Please select a topic below:
- Am I eligible to receive benefits?
- How do I apply for benefits in Louisiana?
- How much will I receive?
- How long will I receive these benefits for?
- After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
- I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
- More information on Louisiana's unemployment insurance laws
1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?
You must be totally or partially unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.
2. How do I apply for benefits in Louisiana?
You can apply online, or over the phone at 1-866-783-5567.
3. How much will I receive?
Your weekly benefit amount will equal 1/25 of the average of the total wages for covered employment paid to you during the 4 quarters of your base period. This amount will be multiplied by 1.05, and the product will be multiplied by 1.15. The resulting weekly benefit amount cannot exceed $247 or be less than $10.
4. How long will I receive these benefits?
The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.
5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?
You must continue to file weekly either online through HiRe or by phone. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (a form to help you do so can be found in the Claimant Handbook). To be actively seeking employment, you must contact at least three different employers each week you file for benefits, and you must register with your local Business & Career Solutions Center within 14 days of your initial claim. Finally, you must accept suitable work.
6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?
You must appeal within 15 calendar days from the date the decision was mailed to you. Your appeal may be submitted online, by mail, email, or by fax. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.