• Choose Language:
  • print
  • decrease text sizeincrease text size
    text

Termination & Unemployment Filing an Unemployment Claim - New Jersey

Advertisement: Workplace Fairness

  1. Am I eligible to receive benefits?

    You must be unemployed through no fault of your own, and you must have earned sufficient wages in your base period (the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar quarters before the start date of your claim, or alternatively the last 4 quarters for some). Also, you must be able and available for full-time work.

  2. How do I apply for benefits in New Jersey?

    You can apply online at https://njsuccess.dol.state.nj.us/njsuccess/html/fileAClaimHome.htm, or over the phone.

  3. How much will I receive?

    The amount will be 60% of the average weekly wage you were paid during your base period, up to the maximum amount payable. For an estimate, use the Labor and Workforce Department's Benefits Estimator at http://lwd.state.nj.us/uiapp/Start.html.

  4. How long will I receive these benefits?

    The length of time that you will receive benefits is also based on how much you made during the base period, but not more than 26 weeks.

  5. After I start receiving benefits, what do I have to do to remain eligible?

    Claimants who file for unemployment benefits may be directed to register for work with the One-Stop Career Center. You will not be directed to register if you are scheduled to return to work within 8 weeks or normally obtain work through a union hiring hall. You must keep all scheduled appointments, and you must continue to file weekly. Also, you must continue to be able and available for full-time work. You must actively seek employment, while keeping a record of your work search activities (Forms to help you do so can be found in the Claimant Handbook). To be actively seeking work, you must contact 3 employers each week you file for benefits. Finally, you must accept suitable work

  6. I was turned down for benefits. How do I appeal this decision?

    You must appeal within 7 days of the delivery, or within 10 days of the mailing, of the decision for denial. You may appeal by mail or by fax to the address shown on the determination. Also, you must keep filing your weekly claims regularly because you will only be paid for weeks you filed if you win your appeal.

  7. For more information on New Jersey's unemployment insurance laws:

    Visit the State of New Jersey Website http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/ui/ui_index.html

    Read the Claimant Handbook http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/forms_pdfs/ui/PR-94.pdf